Tom Williams

10 MORE NOVELLAS

In Uncategorized on June 27, 2012 at 7:42 pm

Cataclysm Baby, Matt Bell.

I did a short review on GoodReads of Matt’s latest, and besides, so many people have already said wiser things about it than me. http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13271003-cataclysm-baby

“Bibliophilia”, Michael Griffith

Up there among the funniest and most erudite writers I know.

My Bright Midnight, Josh Russell

Short novel? Novella? Just goddamned good writing? I reviewed this for The Collagist. http://www.dzancbooks.org/the-collagist/2010/11/14/my-bright-midnight-by-josh-russell-lsu.html

The War of the Crazies, John Oliver Hodges.

Unlike anything you will read. Another amazing offering from Main Street Rag.

That Night, Alice McDermott

Fascinating and focused–made into a movie too.

Enchanted Night, Stephen Millhauser

Nobody but me knows how much I have stolen from this spellbinder.

Sula, Toni Morrison

My favorite of Chloe’s work: last line like no other

House on Mango Street, Sandra Cisneros

Should be old news by now but still as fresh on the page as I recalled the first time I read it.

Seize the Day, Saul Bellow

Wasn’t thinking about this book when I wrote The Mimic’s Own Voice as a model in terms of style or voice, but was thinking, If you’re writing a novella, this sonofabitch might be the yardstick by which its measured.

The Bear, William Faulkner

Like I should say anythign about this one.

 

  1. Thanks so much, Tom!

Leave a Reply

