Tom Williams

New story out soon: “The Hotel Joseph Conrad” in Jelly Bucket

In Uncategorized on January 14, 2012 at 10:03 pm

http://www.english.eku.edu/mfa/JB.php

Scroll down a ways on this site to see my name listed among the contributors’ for the next issue of Jelly Bucket.

I’m really pleased that this story found its way into print. It’s a curiosity, in many ways, for me. What started it off, for a change, was a title: “The Hotel Joseph Conrad.” Ordinarily, I’m a first line guy. I need to hear that first line before I can start the story. This time I just kept hearing that phrase and knew it was a title. What was the story, though?

As well, this was a story that my wife, Carmen, aided me immeasurably with. She told me that I had to make my narrator even crazier than I had. So I tried, and I think I got closer.

I look forward to when this issue of Jelly Bucket comes out and hope that anyone who reads it might have as much fun reading it as I did writing it.

  1. Loved this story. Just read it; so far my favorite in the journal. I’ll have an eye out for your other work.

Leave a Reply

